Printable View    sign in

NewsroomThe latest CSBA news, blog posts, publications, research and resources for members and the news media

Dr. Susan Heredia Joins CSBA’s Elected Leadership as New Vice President

Natomas USD Trustee and Sacramento State Professor of Education, Emerita brings two decades of experience to Vice President role


SACRAMENTO, Calif., (December 10, 2019) – Natomas Unified School District Trustee Dr. Susan Heredia has begun her term as Vice President of the California School Boards Association (CSBA), an organization representing more than 1,000 school districts and county offices of education throughout the state. 

Heredia, who is a Professor of Education, Emerita at Sacramento State University, has been an active member of CSBA and a longtime advocate for California public school students. She has served as CSBA’s Director-At-Large, Hispanic, as well as Chair of the organization’s 2019 Annual Conference Committee. Heredia has also been a member of the association’s Annual Conference Committee, Policy Platform Committee, Board Development Committee, Bylaws Committee, Golden Bell Review Committee, Equity Network, Accountability Task Force, No Child Left Behind Taskforce, Federal Issues Council and Governance Study Group. 

“Supporting and protecting public schools is more than volunteer work to me, it is my life’s work and my unstinting passion,” Heredia said. “My public education commenced many years ago in my son’s classrooms and continued through my time as a teacher, school board member and professor. I am eager to enter into this next phase of advocacy on behalf of all California public school students.” 

Joining Heredia in CSBA’s elected leadership are President Xilonin Cruz-Gonzalez of the Azusa Unified School District and President-elect Suzanne Kitchens of the Pleasant Valley School District. Dr. Emma Turner of the La Mesa-Spring Valley School District will serve as Immediate Past President.


CSBA is a nonprofit association representing nearly 1,000 PreK-12 school districts
and county offices of education throughout California.